My Review of The House of Hades!

My Review of The House of Hades!

The House of Hades with Percy Jackson and Annabeth ChaseThe sad fact is it took my a whole month to read The House of Hades, but I have finally finished! I’m sure some of you (Hannah!) has already read it twice! I loved parts of House of Hades while other parts really lost my attention.

*SPOILERS*

The beginning was a little too slow for me and I felt it did not pick up until Leo’s chapters when he chased after the dwarfs. The humor really made me laugh. (Blue bottom! lol) It was really interesting that Bob was back and I sure was glad I had read The Demigod Files. In a lot of ways he reminded me of Tyson. I felt the saddest and by far the best part in the book was Calypso’s Island, Ogygia. I really had wished we were given four more chapters of Leo and Calypso. Leo’s promise to come back for her was so touching. I really cannot wait to see what happens in The Blood of Olympus. It was awesome how the seven were reunited together at the very end. To Athens we go!

5 Things I Loved (Order of Appearance)

By AlexMCopeman (http://alexmcopeman.deviantart.com/art/HoH-Spoiler-Not-Big-407639435)

By AlexMCopeman (http://alexmcopeman.deviantart.com/art/HoH-Spoiler-Not-Big-407639435)

1. Hecate
My dream finally came true. I have always loved the idea of Hecate (as you saw in Capture the Flag) so for Rick to bring her to life was awesome. She was wicked cool at the end!

2. The Arai Attack
I loved this frightening scene as Percy and Annabeth fought them off. And for Annabeth to go blind!! I was worried.

3. Hazel controlling the Mist
Hazel really amazed me in House of Hades. I never liked her before, but I felt she matured as she learned to control the Mist. It was really cool how she did it too!

4. Leo and Calypso
Talk about a sweet romance. I’ll ship Caleo (or is it Lelypso?) any day!

5. The Final Battle
The demigods destroying Clytius was awesome!

Takeaway From the Characters

Percy Jackson Annabeth Chase
I was a little disappointed as I had hoped to see them have more battles against monsters and bond a little more. Nor did I feel Percy was quite as funny with how he normally described things, but I’ll cut him some slack. He was in Tartarus after all. It was cool to learn Annabeth’s birthday, July 12th. It was pretty funny what was going through her mind when she told us her birthday too.

By Faith92 (http://www.deviantart.com/art/SPOILER-HoH-Title-This-is-NOT-FUNNY-409592405)

By Faith92 (http://www.deviantart.com/art/SPOILER-HoH-Title-This-is-NOT-FUNNY-409592405)

Leo Valdez
“I’m coming back for you, Calypso,” he said to the night wind. “I swear it on the River Styx.” Leo has always been my favorite, but he got extra points for this one. Best. Character. Ever.

Frank Zhang and Hazel Levesque
I never was a fan of either of these two, but it felt like over the course of the book they both matured. It was like they finally stopped feeling sorry for themselves. Frank really became a son of Mars. Hazel seemed to embrace her unfortunate nickname, Witch Girl.

Jason Grace and Piper McLean
These two felt more like characters left in the dark. I’ve always loved Piper, so I hope she’ll get a more important role in The Blood of Olympus.

Nico di Angelo
I felt like this was so wrong to make Nico like Percy. This dude hated Percy because of his sister dying. So now you’re telling me that he didn’t hate him, but loved him? The reason Nico left camp was because one of the bad things about Hades’ children is they really know how to hold a grudge. It felt like a last minute political move by Rick. He executed it very poorly. Nevertheless, Nico was still whinny, annoying Nico to me.

Bob the Titan
It was no surprise that he would sacrifice himself for Percy and Annabeth. I feel like we’ll be seeing him again…

Coach Hedge
It was fun to learn that he had found Clarisse. And he’s married! Wow, did not see that coming!

Now to the rating… I would give House of Hades 4 out of 5 stars. It was good, but was not great. The Mark of Athena still blows it out of the water in my opinion.

What are your thoughts? What would you rate it?

Next up…

The Blood of Olympus
October 7, 2014

Hey, I'm Rebecca! I'm a writer, an avid hiker, and rock climber. I love writing, from PJM posts to stories. Anything you want to know, just ask.

Share This Post

19 Comments

  1. Sandra - December 8, 2014

    Leo Valdez and percy Jackson are my personal favorites……..

  2. rachel ilana - February 1, 2014

    i really do love percy and all, but i felt like he could have done so much better with the book. Like, the plot was unbelievable– but the writing compared to all his other books is a little… pale. No matter what, I will always wait for the blood of Olympus, because, no matter what, he’s still one of my favorite authors.

  3. littlejeepxlc - January 19, 2014

    I love love love love leo valdez

  4. musicluvr - November 25, 2013

    Awesome Review!!!!!!!!….I totally agree with all your points and views!!…. :) :D I had many of the same thoughts and views while reading!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Kieran - November 15, 2013

    I reallllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllly loved it! I agree with you with almost everything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Jojo - November 13, 2013

    YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I agree with you on every part! Especially Leo and Calypso. One part I really liked about the book was Bob’s sacrifice, or just Bob in general, being there. After Leo, he’s my favorite character in the book!

  7. Matthew Craig - November 13, 2013

    I agree with just about everything you said. Although I actually liked Nico’s development, random as it was. I don’t think it was necessarily a contradiction to his behavior in PJO. After all, the whole first series was told from Percy’s point of view. So, our interpretation of Nico may have been influenced by an unreliable narrator. Percy assumed that Nico’s anger towards him was entirely because of what happened to Bianca. It never occurred to him that Nico might also be dealing with the conflicting feelings of attraction. And the only evidence we have that Nico liked Annabeth is that he listened to her in BotL. Percy simply chose to interpret that as a crush. Naturally we, the readers, trust Percy’s judgement.

  8. RELYT - November 13, 2013

    Why does school have to get in the way of me doing a review? I got it on my birthday and finished it the next morning

  9. LivelySparrow97 (Louis, Son of Tyche) - November 13, 2013

    OMG (I never say that but this is an exception)! You used the word “political” to describe Nico’s new character development! That is the exact word I described it as! It was so out of place and context from his previous self and personal motives. It was so hastily and clumsily added that I felt a disconnect from the book and its predecessors and immediately felt drawn into the political “marriage issue”. Nico’s feelings for Annabeth and distrust and hatred of Percy seemed nearly blatantly displayed in Percy Jackson and the Olympians. There’s no way in Hades Nico is homosexual because it’s such a complete turnaround of his character.

    And I agree about Piper as well. I felt she was shortchanged, which was disappointing because I find her to be one of the more fun and interesting demigods of the “seven”. She did great in her small roles though.

    Wonderful review Rebecca! Very accurate :)

  10. April - November 13, 2013

    THIS IS THE REVIEW MOST ACCURATE TO MY FEELINGS THAT I HAVE EVER READ!!
    I completely agree about the beginning slowness, the Leo and Calypso being the best scene, Mark of Athena still the best ever, especially about the Nico thing, and it’s nice that someone else noticed the Clarisse and Hedge thing too!

    I just want to add that in my opinion, the Piper scene was kinda pathetic (to me)… and I agree Piper needs to come out more – maybe be given more powers or something – because right now she’s the character who’s not really had a chance to shine (in my opinion) so far.

  11. Kitkatgirl200 - November 13, 2013

    Do you know what’s really sad? That I finished this a month ago, and I still haven’t written a review. (And I intend to, I’m just really slow.)

    There are a few things I disagree with/ want to discus/point out.

    The first is your final statement. Personally, The Mark of Athena is my least favorite book of the series. I don’t know why. But the House of Hades was everything I wanted The Mark of Athena to be. It had tons of character development and the fights were almost glossed over, and focused more on the emotional side than the slashing part. (After 8 books of that stuff, it’s nice for a change)

    Percy did seem different. I think it’s just character development, he seems to have lost a lot of his heroicness. I think he’s doubting what he’s done. And there is a lack of Jason and Piper, who I both love. They sure did shine when they had their moments though, didn’t they?

    Also, the whole Nico thing honestly doesn’t bother me at all.

  12. Hannah - November 13, 2013

    2 things to say:*Guilty*, and I HAVE SERIOUSLY GOT TO STOP AGREEING WITH YOU
    (particularly over Nico’s character development)

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers:

%d bloggers like this: